S5 – technical specifications


..about time I threw in some tech specs for the Viliv S5 . BTW, I bought the 60G HDD with no HSDPA as I couldn’t wait for the HSDPA models to arrive!

Despite the non SSD version, the unit is whisper quiet..almost as quiet as the Wibrain 32G SSD and the Vaio P 64G SSD that I used to own.

Oh yeah, did I mention I’m a bit of a UMPC fan? My previously owned UMPC/subnotebooks list  OQO 01+, OQO 02, HTC Shift, Vaio U71p, U101, Vaio P 64GSSD , TZ1,Vaio UX17GP, Lifebook P1510, P1610, U1010 3G, eeePC, Wibrain 32G SSD, Raon Everun, Flipstart, Sony Vaio Picturebook PCG-C1VG, Samsung q1 Ultra, HP TC1100.

From time to time, I will wander down memory lane (as will D, my blog partner in crime!) and start comparing our Vilivs with our past road warrior devices..feel free to quiz on our experiences in these other devices as well!

Processor
Intel Atom 1.33GHz (Z520)

Storage
60GB HDD 1.8″
32GB Solid State HD
128GB Solid State HD

Communication
Built in HSPA modem (optional)
WLAN 802.11b/g
Bluetooth 2.0+EDR
GPS Sirf Star3

Power
22.9Wh
(6hours movie play back)

Operating System
Windows XP Home

Memory
DDR2 1.0GB

Display (Internal)
4.8″ WSVGA (1024 x 600) with Touch
Screen

Smart viliv virtual HAPTIC keyboard

Integrated Ports
Audio, USB, USB (link), Multi I/O for Video Out (optional cable required) and Component I/O Cable TV Out (optional cable required)

Physical Features
Premium-H: 436g with batttery / 0.96 lbs
Premium-S: 402g with batttery / 0.88 lbs
Premium 3G: 410g with batttery / 0.90 lbs
Premium 3G (128gb): 422g with batttery / 0.93 lbs

154(W) x 84(H) x 24.4(T) mm
6.0 x 3.3 x 0.96 inches

3 comments so far

  1. T on

    What I’d like to know is exactly what brand and model of SSD they’re using. I’d like to upgrade my HDD to an SSD.

    T.

  2. Diego on

    Wow, apparently we have similar taste in UMPC, but you have a much bigger wallet. I had a HP TC1000, Fujitsu 1510,Raon Everun, eeePC and now a S5. If I compared it to my old UMPCs, the Viliv is a better machine overall. The only downside for me is the touchscreen, not as precise as others.

    • jamesfongster on

      Hi Diego,

      yeah, the purpose of our blog here is to draw out UMPC fans similar to D and myself into the open..:)

      my promise to the wife..have to sell existing umpcs before buying another to reduce out of pocket costs..heheh!

      Agree..touchscreen’s not as precise..thankfully, the haptic feedback gives us a little more surety! I’m sure you find it as challenging as I did to poke at the X at the top right hand corner with your fingers instead of a stylus! 🙂


Leave a Reply

