S5 and iPhone 3G headset equals microphone!


Thanks to reader auzas and Darin who convinced me that the iPhone 3G headphone does work with the S5, I decided to give it another go.

I just discovered I had a faulty microphone headphone on the iPhone which explained my failed attempts several weeks back – luckily I had another spare which I borrowed from a workmate and tried it out just now. Success!

DSC_0180

If you’re going to go out and purchase a iPhone 3G (or similar) headset, make sure you check that the headphone a 3 black, white or colored rings on the connector.

Reader Darin explains..

I’ve seen other sites post that the 3.5″ headset jack is a TRRS jack, opposed to a TRS jack, and is capable to receive microphone input.

TRS = Tip, Ring, Sleeve
TRRS = Tip, Ring, Ring, Sleeve (You’ll see three black/coloured rings on the connector, as opposed to 2 rings for speakers)

The second ring connection is available for a microphone connection on the headset. I’m told that the iPhone supports this same thing, so an iPhone capable headset should work for you here.

Once you plug in the headset, the RealTek Audio Manager app will pop up.

For me, I left the headphone as ticked.

DSC_0181

Reader auzas suggested putting the Microphone to maximum (via Volume Control ) as the mic may not be sensitive.

I then tested via skype and all works well.

My iPhone headset is a good backup to my Sony BT headset (this is working fine) in case it runs out of battery during a long skype call..:)

Thanks once again to our readers auzas and Darin for their helpful comments!

I’ve seen other sites post that the 3.5″ headset jack is a TRRS jack, opposed to a TRS jack, and is capable to receive microphone input.

TRS = Tip, Ring, Sleeve
TRRS = Tip, Ring, Ring, Sleeve (You’ll see three black/coloured rings on the connector, as opposed to 2 rings for speakers)

The second ring connection is available for a microphone connection on the headset. I’m told that the iPhone supports this same thing, so an iPhone capable headset should work for you here.

1 comment so far

  1. Cathy Lee on

    Hi,

    we are wholesale iPhone repair parts
    iPhone 3G LCD:22.5usd/pcs
    iPhone 3Gs LCD:29.5usd/pcs
    iPhone 3G touch screen:15usd/pcs
    iPhone 3Gs touch screen:23usd/pcs
    iPhone 3G LCD with touch screen:56usd/pcs
    iPhone 3Gs LCD with touch screen:75usd/pcs
    100% brand new and original.

    MSN:swiltd123@hotmail.com
    email:sales01@swiphones.com


Leave a Reply

