S5 – My dream leather case


DSC_0103

I wonder if there’ll be 3rd party cases available for the S5 in the future..I bought the viliv S5 leather case as an optional extra and it fits the viliv snugly but also adds a bit of bulk overall which makes it less portable.

Check out the thickness of the casing in the above pic I took of my S5. On the flipside, it does provide some protection should the S5 be accidentally dropped.

What would be nice is a slimmer leather case, similar to my previous OQO 02’s Executive leather case shown below. It looks really professional with no very little added bulk.

If someone made a case of similar design and quality, I’ll buy it! 🙂

ScreenShot1013

Update: Thanks to reader AndyG for providing the below information.

AndyG received a light and slim viliv case accidentally and has posted a youtube video. Thanks Andy!

AndyG: Here’s a (very poor) video I made of the case I mean:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSL98c0bkQU

It is made of leather with nice quality stitching, has a magnetic closure mechanism, plus velcro. The S5 can’t be used while in the case, unlike the OQO one. That doesn’t bother me (I’d be worried about heat for one thing). The main point is that it is light and doesn’t increase the size much.

3 comments so far

  1. AndyG on

    Viliv actually make one already very similar to that OQO one – I received it unexpectedly with my UK spec S5.

  2. AndyG on

    Here’s a (very poor) video I made of the case I mean:

    It is made of leather with nice quality stitching, has a magnetic closure mechanism, plus velcro. The S5 can’t be used while in the case, unlike the OQO one. That doesn’t bother me (I’d be worried about heat for one thing). The main point is that it is light and doesn’t increase the size much.

  3. jamesfongster on

    Hi Andy,
    thanks a lot for the comments. That looks pretty nice, slim and like the fact that it has a velcro fastener on top of the magnetic closure to prevent accidental opening.

    On the contrary, great youtube showcasing your great one handed balancing act with opening the case whilst holding the camera at the same time.

    If you don’t mind, I’ll include your comments and youtube video link into the post for everyone’s benefit.

    Thanks again!
    J.


Leave a Reply

