Bye bye Advantage’


Well after much deliberation about whether the Advantage or the s5 best suits my need for a mobile Internet device, I have decided that I will hang on to the s5.

I must admit that I was totally mermerised with the Advantage’s form factor .. Slim and light with a glorious screen for watching videos.

Unfortunately it doesn’t have the performance grunt to take care of my other needs like a decent web browsing experience ESP with flashy websites. Scrolling through large PDFs weren’t that great. I went back to my s5 and found the shortfalls non existent.

Ok so it doesn’t have a built in camera for photo blogging but my iPhone 3g has become my mobile photo blog tool of choice whilst on the go thanks to the lovely WordPress iPhone application.

So I’m well and truly back in the S5 saddle again!

6 comments so far

  1. Genghis Khent on

    As a long time owner of an Advantage and a hopefully soon owner of a S5, I agree with your decision. The Advantage was a device before its time, but its time has past. It’s just too underpowered for these days.

    I’m curious, given all the elderly gadgets I have piling up, as to what you decided to do with the Advantage?

    • jamesfongster on

      Hey Genghis
      The Advantage will now assume the role of a Tomtom GPS for the car!

      No doubt the S5 had a inbuilt GPS, personally it is a bit too big to mount onto the car window. With the S5, it sits nicely on my car’s dash console next to the iPhone 3G…will post a pic later.

      Plus I am a pro Tomtom person…and the Advantage’s 5″screen is very viewable both the driver and the passenger.

  2. lsbeller on

    Interesting…that is very similar to why I decided that the Celio Redfly mobile extender did not work for my needs. The Redfly worked flawlessly with both my Tilt and my Xperia X1 connecting and interfacing the mobile OS. Howevr, it was the simple limitations of Windows Mobile 6.1 that prevented me from effectively using the platform as a complete laptop relacement.

    Now, I can’t wait to get my X70 and see if it or the S5 works better for me.

    Steve

    • jamesfongster on

      Hi Steve,
      totally agree..immediately the limitations with winmo discounts the Celiofly as a competent full desktop replacement.

      I was quite surprised when the Celiofly was released with a whopping price tag..even above netbooks of similar size but running full blown XP. No surprises the price dropped soon after to make it more marketable.

      I have no doubt either viliv will suit you better esp since there are a pletora of software that allows you to remotely manage and operate your winmo device from the vilivs.

      Hey if there any any readers out there with good experiences on using the vilivs to interact with other devices, feel free to share with the rest of us..thanks!

  3. Genghis Khent on

    Thanks James. Interesting use for the Advantage. Curious to see your pic.

    • jamesfongster on

      Hi mate just posted..

      Am currently using the s5 ttethered with the iphone 3G that is jailbroken and running pdanet..nice!


Leave a Reply

