Early adopters beware – Viliv X70 reports coming in: problems


People who got X70’s in the first batch are starting to report some problems with the units (and these have been confirmed by Chippy (UMPC portal) who has a retail unit now).

The curse of the early adopters is the risk that you become testers of products that aren’t fully realised and if the Company is newish then their quality control is an unknown quantity. Just look at OQO. Formed with the best intentions and with a big name behind the Company, but out of business now and there seems to be an amount of OQO 2’s that have faults and are expensive paperweights now as there’s no warranty support.

It’s time to fess up and announce now that I “suspended” my first order of the X70. This was for a number of reasons but one of them was a gut feeling (inspired I must admit by OQO, everun, etc) that it was a first generation unit. With my budget restrictions for tech I need to buy something that will last for the next 2 years at least and it felt risky to me to buy something pre-order and bleeding edge. That and the fact I was a bit miffed that they missed the delivery date and that was because of parts being unavailable. This actually suggested to me that I may be buying a not fully realised piece of kit (reviews not withstanding).

It is indeed the reason why I’m now considering the S5. I haven’t given up on Viliv altogether as I believe they have nailed the form factor: X70 and also created a really good pocketable in the S5. The S5 has now been around for a while, doesn’t seem to be having systemic problems, has driver availability and maturity as well.

How are people going so far with their X70’s?

Update December 2009: as you will be aware if you read other bits of the blog I bought a Viliv X70 in Japan and am having a great time with it. No prblems and even better than advertised in so many ways. Windows 7 runs great on it.

9 comments so far

  1. KevinH on

    Opted for the overnight shipping thing for an extra $85 and got mine last Wednesday. We went to Fort Walton for the week and I was able to use it while driving 700 miles each way and sitting on the beach. It has worked very well for me overall. I was able to do email, chat, Garmin Mobile PC, web browsing, etc. and all worked well.

    The unit does get hot and there is no internal fan, but the battery lasts a long time but oddly is incorrectly reported in my battery meter application as 1 hour when fully charged.

    Also don’t like the WinXP Home…not sure why they are not providing WinXP Tablet Edition with this units. (Fujitsu still ships with XP Tablet)

    Size and speed are just right for using in the car and while laying down. Wish there was an application that could make the fonts bigger for easier reading while driving, the way the Garmin Mobile PC software works.

    I’m working on a full review at http://www.gadgetrevue.com

  2. KevinH on

    Opted for the overnight shipping thing for an extra $85 and got mine last Wednesday. We went to Fort Walton for the week and I was able to use it while driving 700 miles each way and sitting on the beach. It has worked very well for me overall. I was able to do email, chat, Garmin Mobile PC, web browsing, etc. and all worked well.

    The unit does get hot and there is no internal fan, but the battery lasts a long time but oddly is incorrectly reported in my battery meter application as 1 hour when fully charged.

    Also don’t like the WinXP Home…not sure why they are not providing WinXP Tablet Edition with this units. (Fujitsu still ships with XP Tablet)

    Size and speed are just right for using in the car and while laying down. Wish there was an application that could make the fonts bigger for easier reading while driving, the way the Garmin Mobile PC software works.

    I’m working on a full review at http://www.gadgetrevue.com

    https://vilivboys.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/early-adopters-beware-viliv-x70-reports-coming-in-problems/
    Comment at VilivBoys.com

    • Genghis Khent on

      Kevin, look forward to your full review. Your “Viliv X70 pre-delivery thoughts” was interesting.

      My Battery Meter also reports 1 hour. Scary at first. Thought I had a defective battery.

      The X70 is a natural for GPS/Map usage. I’ll check out Garmin. There’s also Co-Pilot and others. Hard to choose.

  3. John H on

    I haven’t received mine yet, but all the negative buzz has prompted me to downgrade the model I ordered. I originally ordered the 128 GB Vista version – looking forward to an easier upgrade to Win 7. Now I have gotten spooked by all the issues of OS upgrades and decided that XP is just fine for the foreseeable future. I didn’t want to get stuck with Vista, and I can increase memory through the SDHC slot so I should be ok. I’m hopeful all the other troubles with speaker noise, flickering screens, wonky WiFi, etc won’t hit my unit or can be corrected in time. I’ll give an update when I get delivery in a couple of days. Fingers crossed.

  4. Genghis Khent on

    I have the X70. While it’s a 128GB, I opted for XP. It’s now running Windows 7 RC, which I’ll upgrade to Windows 7 RTM next week. The OS upgrade from XP is doable, but not without issues. I’ll write about this probably this weekend and then post the link here.

    As for hardware issues, I’m still checking them out, though by and large no show stoppers, and there are tweaks that help. That’s another article I guess 🙂

    All in all, while I’m still getting used to the device, I like it so far. I am hopefully getting the S5 next week. The comparison between the two devices should be interesting.

  5. Jaime on

    I’m loving mine. Its taking a few days to get everything installed and running the way I want it to, but there is every possibility that this will account for at least half of my PC usage in the near future. Its just easier to keep with me and use.

    I haven’t seen any of the issues people are reporting, although I do think the wireless signal seems much weaker than it should be….especially given the blanket of wireless signal I have at home.

    I’m holding off on upgrading the OS until Win7 drivers are officially released by Viliv.

  6. KevinH on

    Anyone know where to get the Windows XP drivers so I can do a WinXP Pro clean install?

    Whats’s the best place to get WinXP Tablet Edition?

  7. Dana on

    This cooment is really just a shot in the dark but I have a villv X 70 and just noticed that its battery has “expanded” and has pushed open the thin inside cover on the batter.
    I originally received the Viliv x70 as part of a home energy tracking experiment. Now that the experiment is over I am allowed to keep it.
    I’m wondering if I can get a new battery (or if this one can be repaired), and if it’s even worth it.


Leave a Reply

