Viliv S5 competitor? NetWalker PC-Z1


This just in, looks pretty cool. I know it’s not a Viliv but it’s a UMPC and J and I are UMPC nuts :).

I’ve been waiting  along time for the Mio MID which hasn’t yet appeared but now it looks like Sharp has beaten them to it with the

It’s a tiny 5”  MID device called the NetWalker PC-Z1. similar in style to the UMID MBook. I think these will be great since they come from the makers of the awesome Zaurus range of PDA’s.

It has a 5” 1024×600 touch screen display and is powered by a FreeScale i.MX515 CPU (800 MHz) with 512MB RAM, 4GB storage, 802.11b/g Wi-Fi and a 68 key QWERTY keyboard. No internal 3G. Runs Ubuntu.

You can expand the 4GB storage through a microSDHC slot (up to 16GB). USB, Mini USB, Headphone jack.

Boot up time of about 3 seconds. 2-Cell Lithium Ion battery is rated at 10 hours battery life.

It weighs 409g and is 161 x 109 x 20 mm in size.

4 comments so far

  1. borax99 (Alain C.) on

    I like the form factor, but Linux is a total non-starter for me. I was extremely interested in the UMID also, but I couldn’t live with the need for a special adapter to connect USB peripherals.

    So far, the best two MID’s I’ve seen are the S5 (I own one, or … one owns me) and the x70.

    Cheers !

    • jamesfongster on

      Hi,
      like D, I’m a sucker for clamshell MIDs..owned the Sharp Zauras PDA many years back so the Netwalker excites me too! Plus 10 hours and instant boot up..woo hoo!

      Looks like I’ve something on the shopping for D when he heads over to Akihbara.

  2. samhogue on

    But where is Bluetooth?

    • jamesfongster on

      Hi Sam,
      sigh, no bluetooth on the Netwalker..that’s a bad omission as it’ll be nice to be able to wireless hook up a larger external BT keyboard, headset and mouse.


Leave a Reply

