Should I get a UMID M2 when it comes out?


After the fall of my OQO last night, I’m resigned to the fact that OQOs, much as I love ’em and I don’t seem to gel.  I have had 3 unhappy OQOs already to date – my mate says he’s able to put humpty dumpty back together again but it’s a matter of time before the OQO spit the dummy at me again I’m sure! 🙂

..am also getting a bit bored with the Viliv S5 so am considering another pocketable.  I’m quite keen to go back to a clamshell type MID – wasn’t terrible impressed with the rather awkward UMID mBook M1 but pretty excited to see UMID actually taking feedback and applying to the M2.  The viewing angle has improved, a useable optical mouse included.

Spec-wise 1.6GHz Atom processor, 1GB RAM, and Windows 7…

Good on you UMID!

Pricewise, according to http://www.pocketables.com’s Jenn, USD$499’s for a lower spec-ed M2 version (http://www.pocketables.net/2009/09/umid-m2-with-1gb-ram-and-windows-7-priced-at-499.html).  I’ll wait for the final word.

Can’t wait for the release date!

2 comments so far

  1. Genghis Khent on

    But if you do this, don’t you have to change the name of your blog to The Umid Boys? Seems to close to Humid 🙂

    Out of curiosity, why are you bored with the S5? If not lack of keyboard, why do you think the M2 will be better?

    • jamesfongster on

      …or the Netwalker dude since I’ve ordered a SHarp Netwalker? heheh!


Leave a Reply

