Netwalkin’ in the doors in 2-5days!


pen

Argh, I couldn’t help myself just then and ordered a Sharp Netwalker from http://www.conics.net !

You may be wondering why I’ve down spec-ed  to a PC-Z1 Netwalker, which runs Ubuntu Linux 9.0.4  on a 800Mhz Freescale i.MX515 CPU,  has 1024 x 600 resolution display, 512MB of RAM and 4GB of on-board flash (with support for 16GB of flash in a micro SDHC slot) 802.11/b/g Wi-Fi, two USB ports ?

PC-Z1-B-top

Well, I’m a closet Sharp MID fan since owning my very first embedded linux Sharp Zauras SL5500 many years back.

The Netwalks is far from being a speed demon from all the reviews, but having a useable hard keyboard, ten hours (real life 7 hours) battery life and weighing only 409 grams and running Ubuntu Linux, for me, is too hard to resist. And I adore optical pointers..really enjoyed the pointer on the Raon Everun..

I’ll be using this as a very lightweight MID device – browsing, OpenOffice (most important), eBook reading,  Social Networking, Emails and vilivboys blogging on the move.

PC-Z1-B

Oh, and the AUD currency’s doing well against the JPY today so I had an additional AUD$20 off thanks to a good FX..and Conics offered free shipping.

Will definitely be sharing my thoughts on the Netwalker vs S5 vs OQO…a 3 way MID bout! 🙂

Haven’t told the missus yet – gulp!  Looks like I’ll have to put another laptop on eBay as a peace offering..:)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

